Traquair House and Grounds

« Back

Traquair House and Grounds

Dating back to 1107, Traquair prides itself on being the oldest inhabited house in Scotland. Originally a hunting lodge for the kings and queens of Scotland it has been lived in for over 900 years. Today, visitors can explore the extensive grounds including a maze planted with 1,500 trees, a playground of willow tunnels and mature woodland including the amazing yew circle. There are no formal gardens here, but a designed landscape of over 100 acres.

Traquair was originally built in part of the Ettrick Forest and today it continues to be surrounded by ancient woodlands and more recent plantings. Some of the oldest yew trees in Scotland can be found on a woodland walk as well as striking examples of Scots Pine, Douglas Fir, Horse Chestnut, Limes, Ash and Beech. There are woodland trails around the house including Lady Louisa’s walk which takes you past the Quair water and on to the River Tweed.

Many native species can be spotted at Traquair including otters, deer, red squirrel, badger, stoat and red fox. The woodlands are rich in birdlife as are the ponds and streams.

Directions

From Innerliethen, turn off the A72 onto the B709 and then right onto the B7062. follow the signs for Traquair House

Opening Times

Open Daily 3rd April to - 31st October

Weekends only in November

Please check website for opening hours  www.traquair.co.uk

Café and craft workshops on site

Entry fees apply

« Back

Looking towards the Bear Gates, Ray Cox
Yew Circle, Ray Cox
Red Fox, Ian Cameron
Otter, Ian Cameron